This is the "Home" page of the "Library & EdTech Newsletter" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library & EdTech Newsletter   Tags: newsletter, updates  

What's New from the Library and in EdTech
Last Updated: Nov 16, 2017 URL: http://thacher.libguides.com/NewsletterNov Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Information Updates: What's New?

The Thacher School Library has been a bustling place since the start of the school year. In an effort to keep the Thacher community informed, we are starting a newsletter to share what's happening. 

First, a little refresher about our library.

The library is a community space with multiple purposes.

  • A quiet place to study, especially Sunday - Thursday from 7:30-9:30
  • A repository of resources for research and enrichment
  • Classroom and group study space
  • A place to design and create in the Project Studio
  • A social space for clubs and meetings

 

Hours and Expectations

Information and Expectations

Help is available:

Monday - Friday: 8:30 am - 4:00 pm

Weekends: By request

Quiet Study Hall Hours: Monday - Thursday: 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Group Work: It's great to work and learn with others. Please take advantage of the Conference Room, Projects Studio, or the Records Room where you have access to whiteboards, tables, and comfortable seating. 

Mini whiteboards and markers are available.

Expectations:

Members of the community should be respectful of others trying to work and take care of the resources available to the entire community. We thank you for picking up and returning items, including dishes, to the place they originated. 

The Library Courtyard is always available to individuals and groups wishing to study or socialize.

Library Catalog

Are you trying to find information on your topic? A good place to start  is right here in the Thacher library. Check out the books on reserve then search the library catalog to find more.

 

Library Updates

Looking for...

...content for the library digital display. Promote club speakers, events, movie nights, etc.

...new student work for "Our Best Work" bulletin board. 

Moves

In our ongoing effort to add and improve study spaces in the library, we have relocated the children's book section to "the nook" in the fiction room. Stay tuned for other moves.

New items in the Library

DATABASES

  • ArtStore
    The Artstor Digital Library is an image database featuring an unparalleled range of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. It is the most comprehensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.

    The library is constantly growing with new collections added monthly, continually expanding our areas of reference and study. All images are accompanied by comprehensive metadata and are rights-cleared for educational use.
  • ArtStor Features
    Check out all that ArtStor has to offer. Let us know if you would like access to Help Guides.
  • Statista
    Statista is a new database devoted to statistics. It is a portal to relevant statistics from numerous trustworthy sources worldwide. Its interface makes what you are looking for easy to find. It provides specialized statistic dossiers and everything is downloadable in these common formats: png (image), pdf, xls, and ppt.

    More importantly, the information is constantly updated. Need something specific for a class? Statista will custom design a package just for you.

New Links to Explore

Cool Websites

  • News-Decoder
    News-Decoder fosters global understanding by building a borderless community of young people keen to extend their horizons, learn about international affairs and challenge assumptions.

    News outlets scrambling for a scoop leave young people in the lurch — aware of breaking events but struggling to understand the significance. N-D addresses the knowledge gap and brings young adults from around the world together on a common platform for sharing insights and perspectives.
  • ProCon:The Leading Source for Pros & Cons on Controversial Issues
    "Promoting critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, primarily pro-con format."
  • C-Span Video Library
    The C-SPAN Video Library began within the Purdue University School of Liberal Arts in 1987 under the leadership of Dr. Robert X. Browning, who sought a way to archive and index the thousands of hours of congressional coverage produced by the network every year. The project quickly became one of the most comprehensive video archives of governmental and political content, and C-SPAN assumed responsibility for the archival operations in July 1998.

    In 2010, C-SPAN won its third Peabody Award for the Video Library—now a collection totaling over 235,000 hours of programming first made available to the public for free in 2007. In addition, The Video Library records all three C-SPAN networks seven days a week, twenty-four hours a day. Programs are extensively indexed, making the database of C-SPAN programming an unparalleled chronological resource.
  • All Sides
    AllSides exposes bias and provides multiple angles on the same story so you can quickly get the full picture, not just one slant.

EdTech

Google

Voice Typing - Is it in your head but having a hard time getting to your fingers and onto the page? Try Google Voice Typing.

Google Calendar Update is coming!  I will post and share directions to help with room and resource reservations. 

Single Sign On (SSO) is available for citation managers NoodleTools and EasyBib (warning: EasyBib users will see ads) via the Google App Launcher. 

      

    Project Studio

    The Thacher Library Project Studio is open for students, teachers, and classes to learn, design, create, iterate, and publish. While the room is open for business, we are currently purchasing tools and supplies for a GRAND opening in February, just in time for Valentine's Day!

        
       

      New Books

      To see all our new books, click here.


      Cover Art
      I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter - Erika L. Sánchez
      ISBN: 1524700487
      Publication Date: 2017-10-17

      Cover Art
      Bored and Brilliant - Manoush Zomorodi
      ISBN: 1250124956
      Publication Date: 2017-09-05

      Cover Art
      Girl Code - Andrea Gonzales; Sophie Houser
      ISBN: 006247250X
      Publication Date: 2017-03-07

      Cover Art
      Little Fires Everywhere - Celeste Ng
      ISBN: 0735224293
      Publication Date: 2017-09-12

      Cover Art
      Locking up Our Own - James Forman
      ISBN: 0374189978
      Publication Date: 2017-04-18

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip