This is the "AP Art History Sources" page of the "AP Art History- Mr. Robinson" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

AP Art History- Mr. Robinson  

Last Updated: Nov 16, 2017 URL: http://thacher.libguides.com/aparthistory Print Guide

AP Art History Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

These database links will only work on campus. If you are off campus, you will need to access them from following the prompt at the bottom of the database links on the Thacher Library web page.

 

Virtual Reference Books

Cover Art
Arts and Humanities through the Eras
Call Number: R Gale Online

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Call Number: R Gale Online
ISBN: 9780028660721
Publication Date: 2005-12-01

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Religion
Call Number: R Gale Online
ISBN: 0028657330

Cover Art
Europe, 1450 to 1789 : Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World
Call Number: R Gale Online
ISBN: 068431200X

Cover Art
Europe, 1789 To 1914 - John Merriman (Editor); Jay Winter (Editor)
ISBN: 9780684314969
Publication Date: 2006-07-01

Cover Art
World History Encyclopedia - Alfred J. Andrea (Editor)
ISBN: 9781851099306
Publication Date: 2008-04-01

 

General Art History Books

Thacher Library Catalog

Cover Art
Atlas of world art
Call Number: R 709 ATL
ISBN: 0195215834

Cover Art
Art & Today
Call Number: 709.04 HEA
ISBN: 0714845140

Cover Art
Discovering the great masters : the art lover's guide to understanding symbols in paintings
Call Number: 759 CRE
ISBN: 0789318911

Cover Art
How to Read a Painting : Lessons from the Old Masters
Call Number: 753.09 HOW
ISBN: 0810955768

Cover Art
What Great Paintings Say
ISBN: 3822847909

Cover Art
What Makes a Masterpiece
ISBN: 0500238790

Cover Art
Dialogues in art history, from Mesopotamian to modern : readings for a new century
Call Number: 709 DIA
ISBN: 0300121628

Cover Art
Painting Today
Call Number: 759.06 GOD
ISBN: 0714846317

Cover Art
Penguin Concise Dictionary of Art Terms
Call Number: R 709 FRA
ISBN: 0670100153

Getty Vocabularies

  • The Getty Vocabularies
  • Art and Architecture Thesaurus
    The Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT)®
    The AAT is a structured vocabulary of around 34,000 concepts, including 131,000 terms, descriptions, bibliographic citations, and other information relating to fine art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, and material culture.
  • Union Lists of Artist Names
    ULAN is a structured vocabulary containing around 127,000 records, including 375,000 names and biographical and bibliographic information about artists and architects, including a wealth of variant names, pseudonyms, and language variants.
  • The Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names
    The TGN is a structured vocabulary containing around 895,000 records, including around 1,115,000 names, place types, coordinates, and descriptive notes, focusing on places important for the study of art and architecture.

Scholarly Web Art History Resources

SmartHistory.org

Art Movements, Artists, Theory and Critical essays by Art Historians at your fingertips.

Art History Resources on the Web:

a great site; covers prehistoric to late twentieth-century art, with links to artists' biographies, museums, and glossaries.

Artstory.org :

Art Movements, Artists, Theory and the Progression of Art at your fingertips.

Perseus :

An evolving digital library with information and a database of art and archaeology images.



      

    Online Art History Resources

    Artcyclopedia:

    a comprehensive, easy-to-use, database of art on the web, from museum sites, image archives, and other online resources. Searchable by artist.

    Mark Harden's Artchive:

    includes 2,000 scans from over 200 artists, as well as criticism, reviews, and original online exhibitions. A great resource.

    Yahoo's Master Artists: links to websites on most major artists.

        
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip