MLA CHANGES
This is the "US History" page of the "Presidential Elections- Mr. Carney" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Presidential Elections- Mr. Carney  

Last Updated: Nov 16, 2017 URL: http://thacher.libguides.com/presidents Print Guide

US History Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

These database links will only work on campus. If you are off campus, you will need to access them from following the prompt at the bottom of the database links on the Thacher Library web page.

  • Biography Resource Center
    A great resource for biographies of persons throughout history.
  • Britannica Online
    A great place to begin to get relevant information on your topic. Often offers historical context.
  • CQ Researcher
    Great research on todays issues. Offers pro and con, statistical data, bibliographies and more.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Online reference books. You can search them all and filter through them. It includes numerous encyclopedias of American History and a series called "American Decades" which includes primary sources.
  • JStor
    An academic journal database that offers specified information on a variety of topics. The articles are often lengthy.
  • Opposing Viewpoints
    Books, journals and newspaper articles on today's issues.
  • ProQuest
    Current newspaper, magazine and journal articles.
  • Questia School
    A database providing access to 83,000 books and over 1.5 million journal, newspaper and magazine articles. Features include the ability to highlight, note take and create bibliographies.
 

Library Catalogs

Are  you  trying  to  find  information  on  your  topic?

A comprehensive source for you to begin with rather than Amazon.com is the Library of Congress catalog. It a great resource to locate more books than you ever knew existed on a subject. We can also request many of these items InterLibrary Loan which allows us borrow these books from many libraries within the United States.  When you know of the books you would like, email Ms. LaForge. Request only what you can read in a timely manner. We are only able to renew books once. If you find ten books you think will be useful, only request a few (2-3). When you are finished with them, you can request more. 

 

 If you want to start local, then a good place to begin is our library :

The Thacher School Library Catalog

If you didn't find anything in our catalog on your topic, then try searching the other libraries tab on your left.  We can get items from our peer schools rather quickly.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Library Books to consult

We have many books on individual presidents, speeches and their mileu. You just have to look for them in the library catalog. See link above.

Annals of America
Call Number: R 973 ANN

Milestone Documents in American History
Call Number: R 973 MIL v.2 and 3

Our Nation's Archive: Key Documents, opinions, speeches, letters, and songs that shaped our nation.
Call Number: R 973 OUR

 

Virtual Reference Books

All of these can be found within the Gale Virtual Reference Library too.

American Decades
Call Number: R Gale Online
Documents the time periods of 1900-1999

American Decades
Call Number: R Gale Online
Documents the time periods of 2000-2009

American Decades Primary Sources
Call Number: R Gale Online
Cross-disciplinary source spanning the 20th century. Each volume in the set includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.



Gilded Age and Progressive Era Reference Library
Call Number: R Gale Online
Focuses on the significant social and culture changes that occurred in the years 1878-1913.

Reconstruction Era Reference Library
Call Number: R Gale Online
The three-volume Reconstruction Era Reference Library provides targeted information on post-Civil War America, from the end of the war in 1865 to the Compromise of 1877.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip