MLA CHANGES
This is the "Home" page of the "English II : Propaganda in Art" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English II : Propaganda in Art  

Last Updated: Nov 16, 2017 URL: http://thacher.libguides.com/propaganda Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

The Thacher School Databases

These database links will only work on campus. If you are off campus, you will need to access them from following the prompt at the bottom of the database links on the Thacher Library web page.

Databases vary in the type of information they offer. If your topic is historical in nature, most likely  JStor, Questia, GVR, Google Scholar and books will be your best bet. Please see my notes beneath each one to help guide you. 

  • Britannica Online Academic Edition
    A great place to begin to get relevant information on your topic. Often offers historical context.
  • EBRARY
    A database of 80,000 full-text non-fiction and fiction titles.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Online reference books. Click the show all button to see what you can find here. Several of these will have useful information for your topics. Search them all at once and see what you get.
  • JSTOR
    A great resource for academic journal articles.
  • Questia School
    A database providing access to 28,000 books and over 1.5 million journal, newspaper and magazine articles. Features include the ability to highlight, note take and create bibliographies.
 

EBRARY EXAMPLES

Full-text ebooks. Just click and open them on to your computer. Here are some examples that could be helpful. Feel free to search Ebrary yourself as well.

Cover Art
Paper Politics - Josh MacPhee (Editor)
ISBN: 9781604862867
Publication Date: 2009-10-01

Cover Art
Mao's New World - Chang-tai Hung
ISBN: 0801449340
Publication Date: 2010-11-12

Cover Art
Japan and Russia - Yulia Mikhailova
ISBN: 9789004213159
Publication Date: 2008-01-01

Cover Art
The Jewish Enemy - Jeffrey Herf
ISBN: 9780674038592
Publication Date: 2009-07-01

 

Searching Google

When searching Google use site:edu before your search terms to retrieve items specifically associated with educational institutions. Such items are more credible than dot.com items you may retrieve in a general Google search. You can use any combination of words. The important thing is to use the the command, site: command followed by whatever domain you would like to search.

See the example below.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip