MLA CHANGES
This is the "RESOURCES" page of the "12th grade Senior Exhibition Research Capstone Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

12th grade Senior Exhibition Research Capstone Project  

Last Updated: Nov 16, 2017 URL: http://thacher.libguides.com/seniorex Print Guide RSS Updates

RESOURCES Print Page
  Search: 
 

The Thacher School Databases

These database links will only work on campus. If you are off campus, you will need to access them from following the prompt at the bottom of the database links on the Thacher Library web page.

Databases vary in the type of information they offer. If your topic is historical in nature, most likely  JStor, Questia, GVR, Google Scholar and books will be your best bet. If your topic is timely or current, the rest below may better assist you. Please see my notes beneath each one to help guide you. 

  • Academic Search Premier
    "A popular resource found in many academic settings worldwide, this resource was designed for the premier researcher, rich with the most valuable, comprehensive multidisciplinary content available. As a leading scholarly database, it provides access to acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources."
  • EBRARY
    A database of 80,000 full-text non-fiction and fiction titles.
  • Questia School
    A database providing access to 28,000 books and over 1.5 million journal, newspaper and magazine articles. Features include the ability to highlight, note take and create bibliographies.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Online reference books. Click the show all button to see what you can find here. Several of these will have useful information for your topics. Search them all at once and see what you find.
  • JSTOR
    A great resource for academic journal articles.
  • CQ Researcher
    Great research on todays issues. Offers pro and con, statistical data, bibliographies and more.
  • Opposing Viewpoints
    Books, journals and newspaper articles on today's issues.
  • ProQuest
    Current newspaper, magazine and journal articles and EBook Central.

Where do I begin?

 

Library Catalogs

Are  you  trying  to  find  information  on  your  topic?

A comprehensive source for you to begin with rather than Amazon.com is the Library of Congress catalog. It a great resource to locate more books than you ever knew existed on a subject. We can also request many of these items InterLibrary Loan which allows us borrow these books from many libraries within the United States.  When you know of the books you would like, email Ms. LaForge. Request only what you can read in a timely manner. We are only able to renew books once. If you find ten books you think will be useful, only request a few (2-3). When you are finished with them, you can request more. 

 

 If you want to start local, then a good place to begin is our library :

The Thacher School Library Catalog

If you didn't find anything in our catalog on your topic, then try searching the other libraries tab on your left.  We can get items from our peer schools rather quickly.

 

 

 

 

 

Annotated Bibliographies

Open source resources

  • OAISTER
    Access to WORLD CAT holdings from libraries all around the US. This site will help you locate titles of books relevant to your topic and broader in scope than AMAZON. It also allows access to thesis, dissertaion and journal articles.
  • BASE
    BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources.BASE provides more than 50 million documents from more than 2,700 sources. You can access the full texts of about 75% of the indexed documents. The Index is continuously enhanced by integrating further OAI sources as well as local sources.
  • DOAJ
    Directory of Open Access Journals : The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. In short, the DOAJ aims to be THE one stop shop for users of open access journals.
  • OpenDOAR
    OpenDoar provides access to papers, dissertations and studies from a variety of institutions. Select your subject area and begin browsing.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip