This is the "US History" page of the "Mark Twain's America- Mr. McGowan" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mark Twain's America- Mr. McGowan  

Last Updated: Nov 16, 2017 URL: http://thacher.libguides.com/twain Print Guide

US History Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

These database links will only work on campus. If you are off campus, you will need to access them from following the prompt at the bottom of the database links on the Thacher Library web page.

  • Biography Resource Center
    A great resource for biographies of persons throughout history.
  • Britannica Online
    A great place to begin to get relevant information on your topic. Often offers historical context.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Online reference books. You can search them all and filter through them. It includes numerous encyclopedias of American History and a series called "American Decades" which includes primary sources.
  • Grove Art
    Encyclopedia of art, artists and art terms. An excellent source for this project.
  • JStor
    An academic journal database that offers specified information on a variety of topics. The articles are often lengthy.
  • ProQuest
    Current newspaper, magazine and journal articles.
  • Questia School
    A database providing access to 83,000 books and over 1.5 million journal, newspaper and magazine articles. Features include the ability to highlight, note take and create bibliographies.

Library Catalog

 

A good place to begin is :

The Thacher School Library Catalog

 

 

Primary sources on Reserve

These items have put on reserve and offer many primary sources for your research assignment.

An Army Doctor's wife on the Frontier : : the letters of Emily McCorkle FitzGerald from Alaska and the Far West, 1874-1878
Call Number: 973.82 FIT

America's gilded age : an eyewitness history
Call Number: 973.8 CLA

Annals of America
Call Number: R 973 ANN
--v. 10. 1866-1883: Reconstruction and industrialization.--v. 11. 1884-1894: Agrarianism and urbanization.--v. 12. 1895-1904: Populism, imperialism, and reform.

The Civil War and Reconstruction : An Eyewitness History
Call Number: 973.7 KIR

I Will Tell of My War Story : A Pictorial Account of the Nez Pearce War
Call Number: 973.83 THO

Mark Twain : An Illustrated History
Call Number: 921 TWA

Milestone Documents in American History
Call Number: R 973 MIL v.2 and 3

Narrative of the life of Frederick Douglass, an American slave
Call Number: 326 DOU

Our Nation's Archive: Key Documents, opinions, speeches, letters, and songs that shaped our nation.
Call Number: R 973 OUR

Reconstruction
Call Number: 973.7
A packet of primary sources.

The Search for Order 1877-1920
Call Number: 973.9 WIE

Populism and the Election of 1896
Call Number: 973.87 POP
A packet of primary sources.

 

Virtual Reference Books covering topics during Mark Twain's life

All of these can be found within the Gale Virtual Reference Library too.

Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity and Society
Call Number: R GALE Online
Examines the role race and ethnicity play in society. Covers intergroup relations in the United States and the comparative examination of race and ethnicity worldwide. Over a hundred racial and ethnic groups are described, with additional thematic essays offering insight into broad topics that cut across group boundaries and impact society.

Gale Library of Daily Life of Slavery in America
Call Number: R GALE Online
Illuminates daily life in slave society in America from colonial times to the end of the Civil War. Provides information on the business and regulation of slavery, the plantation way of life, work, family and community, culture and leisure, health and medicine, religion, resistance and rebellion, and slavery and freedom in the North.

Gilded Age and Progressive Era Reference Library
Call Number: R Gale Online
Focuses on the significant social and culture changes that occurred in the years 1878-1913.

Reconstruction Era Reference Library
Call Number: R Gale Online
The three-volume Reconstruction Era Reference Library provides targeted information on post-Civil War America, from the end of the war in 1865 to the Compromise of 1877.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip