This is the "Home" page of the "9th grade World Governments Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

9th grade World Governments Research  

Last Updated: Nov 2, 2017 URL: http://thacher.libguides.com/worldgovernments Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Catalog

Are you trying to find information on your topic? A good place to start  is right here in the Thacher library. Check out the books on reserve then search the library catalog to find more.

Finding general information about your topic

Questions about your topic? Not sure where to begin? Start with an encyclopedia entry to get a "big picture" view of your topic.

Wikipedia is an encyclopedia, with an added benefit: scroll to the bottom and check out the bibliography for more sources and information!

Off campus login information

If you should find yourself off campus and need of a resource from a Thacher database, you'll need to log in. You will find those credentials below.

The Thacher School Databases

Databases vary in the type of information they offer. These databases were chosen because a more current view of your topic. Be sure to use Advanced Search and the filtering tools available in each database to focus your search.

 

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library  
      
    Online reference books. Click the show all button to see what you can find here. Several of these will have basic useful information for your topics.
  • ProQuest
    A great source for current news stories from a variety of newspapers and magazines.
  • Statista

Websites for Global Perspective

Use the Google "site" search operator to dig into a specific domain or website to unlock great resources.

Using the address bar, type in your search terms (use "quotation marks" for a phrase) space site:domain.

Examples:

"xi jinping" site:chinafile.com  --> (remove http://www.chinafile.com )

"chinese stockmarket" site:hks.harvard.edu  --> (remove https://www.hks.harvard.edu

NO SPACE after site:domain (shoosh it together)

 

Collect images for your presentation

Don't forget to properly cite your images.

Take advantage of the #1 available resource.....

Ask a librarian! A real human person!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip